Last week, I used a picture to represent Josh and I and obviously that’s not our picture but it gives a description of how we were then, JOSHUA is a tall muscular, fair guy, he his very hairy and good looking, hails from the western region and lived in the east just before his father became an Evangelist in a church in Kogi were we met.

Let me give a brief history:

I, Aisha is the only child of my Mother who is the only child of her parent, I am hausa from Abdalawa in Katsina Lat 13.16 Long 7.9 with population of about 195,000 people mostly women and children residing in the town. Farming and cow rearing is a major occupation but my mother is a business woman, she distributes Dangote products and is friends with a lot of business men and women in Kogi State, that’s how we moved to Kogi and she made me school somewhere close, i was very young and smart, i had idea in almost everything, science was and is my darling and would fall for anyone who played the role of Daddy since i lost mine when I was just 11 😦 i never knew a large family, i was used to the little i had and was always grateful, i practise Islam and did all required except that i got carried away as a teenager, had friends but never partied or clubbed until i met Josh because that was his way of life, it occurred to me i missed out a lot but i still caught up with many.

Josh on the other hand, is the first of 6children and so much was expected of him at the time he was just 25 had 5 siblings looking up to him, a mother who believed in him and a father who is always expecting, Despite our messy lives we still held on to family and each time he speaks of his, i always wished i had one to talk about. He works for an advertising company and did his MSc has part time, he might not be the born again Christian but will always pray, go to church and do the norms, he has invited me to sunday services several times but i always find excuses.

Its been 5months into our very undefined relationship and we were both always trying to define it but it leads to one argument or the other, he started to introduce me to friends as his girlfriend and i was now free to talk about him to my girlfriends, i even mentioned him to my mom but she wasn’t in full support of the relationship, this i knew because she never asked after him. I didn’t mind because i was sure he now loved me and cared about me and would always make me smile. Josh never stopped his romantic ways and he never stopped how we started off, every day was lived freshly and lively.

Soon before i was due to go home for the long break, Josh took me to his parents house, we were in for about an hour or two, we talked about how we would miss each other at a point i cried because he was also almost done with his master’s programming and was planning to take a job in Cyprus but wasn’t sure yet. The end was the only thing i saw in our relationship, to be honest i wasn’t hopeful at all, a lot of friends and colleagues have never seen us going past 3months, even though we made it past that. As we were talking and giggling with him assuring me he wasn’t going to leave me and telling me how much he now loves and respects me, his mum walked in.

She is tall, dark and fat, i had to look up at her, knelt down and greeted her, she was busy talking on the phone and didn’t respond, i didn’t take any offence but after like 10-15mins of her wandering about the house i thought to myself, she should have noticed me by now, but guess she didn’t. Josh was no longer by my side, she had told him to get something, then i greeted her again. Her words were ” i thought you were dumb” i responded with down spirit that i greeted her but she was on the phone. She smiled and asked of my name, just then Josh came in and told her i was Kemi. I looked up from where i knelt and he gave the “shut up i’ll explain sign”. I smiled back at her and she started speaking yoruba, of course i understand yoruba but i became dumb as she earlier assumed. The next question was; which church do you attend?

:O i didn’t know what to say because obviously she concluded i was Christian.

Monday is just around the corner please stay tuned 😀

